World Series of Poker (WSOP) - History

World Series of Poker (WSOP)The first official event of World Series of Poker (WSOP) was in 1970 at Binion’s Horseshoe Casino, it’s origins can be traced back to 1949 when casino owner Benny Binion started an event that put together poker players "Nick the Greek" Dandolos and Johnny Moss face off in a variety of a cash games.

Tom Morehead in 1969 held in Holiday Hotel what he called "The Texas Gamblers Reunion". At this event lots of players participated, Doyle Bronson, Treetop Straus, Johnny Moss, Day, Puggy Pearson, Amarillo Slim Preston, Jimmy Casella, Bill Boyd, Syd Wyman, Long Diddie.

There was no winner to this event , it wasn`t a Main event 100% but we can say that from here WSOP started.

The first World Series of Poker held at Binion’s Horseshoe Casino in 1970 had only 7 players.

From the following year the WSOP has been held with cash prizes and buy-in price of $10,000, five-card stud was added to the first side event. Lot`s of poker games have been added and removed along the years, in 2006 World Series of Poker had 42 events including special tournaments for seniors and women.

Not only the number of poker games grown bul also the number of players with the help of online Poker Rooms and televised events like WORLD POKER TOUR (WPT) with a total number of player for all events going from, 780 in 2000 to over 23,000 in 2005.

A lot of the participants qualified online at poker rooms such as Poker Stars.

List of all the winners of the World Series of Poker main event.

1970Johnny MossN/A
1971Johnny Moss30,000
1972"Amarillo Slim" Preston 80,000
1973Walter "Puggy" Pearson130,000
1974Johnny Moss160,000
1975Brian "Sailor" Roberts210,000
1976Doyle "Texas Dolly" Brunson220,000
1977Doyle "Texas Dolly" Brunson340,000
1978Bobby Baldwin210,000
1979Hal Fowler270,000
1980Stu Ungar385,000
1981Stu Ungar375,000
1982Jack "Treetop" Straus520,000
1983Tom McEvoy580,000
1984Jack Keller660,000
1985Bill Smith700,000
1986Berry Johnston570,000
1987Johnny Chan625,000
1988Johnny Chan700,000
1989Phil Hellmuth, Jr.755,000
1990Mansour Matloubi (Welsh)895,000
1991Brad Daugherty1,000,000
1992Hamid Dastmalchi1,000,000
1993Jim Bechtel1,000,000
1994Russ Hamilton1,000,000
1995Dan Harrington1,000,000
1996Huck Seed1,000,000
1997Stu Ungar1,000,000
1998Scotty Nguyen1,000,000
1999Noel Furlong (Ireland)1,000,000
2000Chris "Jesus" Ferguson1,500,000
2001Juan Carlos "The Matador" Mortensen (Spain) 1,500,000
2002Robert Varkonyi2,000,000
2003Chris Moneymaker2,500,000
2004Greg "Fossilman" Raymer5,000,000
2005Joseph Hachem (Australia)7,500,000
2006Jamie Gold 12,000,000
2007Jerry Yang 8,250,000
2008Peter Eastgate9,152,416


World Series of Poker 1970 - amazing images

WSOP 1970 - amazing image

WSOP 1970 - dealer

World Series of Poker 2008 - the difference :)

WSOP 2008 - our days